Symphony No. 1

As I lay in bed in the middle of the night, my thoughts accompanied by Schubert, my mind flashes back to a revelatory moment of my youth. I was playing with my radio, tuning in distant stations as I was fascinated by the idea that I could listen live to voices coming from faraway places like Little Rock, Arkansas or Denver, Colorado, that their voices could be carried through the air in sound waves and somehow be translated back into words that I could hear through a little box with a set of numbers on a round dial.

It was afternoon, as I remember sunlight sifted by window curtains streaming into the basement of our house. Turning the dial, I stumbled across music I had never heard before. Upstairs, my mother regularly tuned into a nearby radio station that played the likes of Dean Martin, Wayne Newton, Frank Sinatra, and popular songs like “Somewhere, My Love” by the Ray Conniff Singers. In the living room she had a small collection of records that included The Singing Nun and several albums by Nat King Cole, her favorite.

What I had found that afternoon was classical music and I had never heard anything like it before. There were more instruments than I ever thought possible and they were mixing together in exciting and beautiful ways–violins carrying the bulk of the work, but also flutes, and instruments I later came to know, such as oboes, French horns, timpani, and more. It wasn’t just sound. It was feeling, emotions.

My child’s mind was transported to faraway places and it was if I were wandering through a forest with birds singing and animals wandering in and around trees and I was living in a landscape in my mind. It was like walking through a portrait of a place I never knew existed until that moment in time. It opened my mind and my heart in ways that nothing else in the small town where I lived had ever done before, with the exception of books that also let me travel to distant places I would otherwise never know. It was like reading a book with my ears.

I must have listened for an hour or more until the program ended and then I made a point of remembering the number on the dial so I could come back to it again and again. I did not want to lose this new joy that I had found, and I have since come back to it throughout my life, still with the same wonder in its ability to transport me to distant realms.

About Callen Harty

Originally from Shullsburg, Wisconsin Callen Harty is the author of four books and numerous published essays, poems, and articles. His most recent book is The Stronger Pull, a memoir about coming out in a small town in Wisconsin. His first book was My Queer Life, a compilation of over 30 years worth of writing on living life as a queer man. It includes essays, poems, speeches, monologues, and more. Empty Playground: A Survivor's Story, is a memoir about surviving childhood sex abuse. His play, Invisible Boy, is a narrative with poetic elements and is also an autobiographical look as surviving child sex abuse. All are available on Amazon.com (and three of them on Kindle) or can be ordered through local bookstores, He has written almost two dozen plays and 50 monologues that have been produced. Most of them have been produced at Broom Street Theater in Madison, Wisconsin where he started as an actor, writer, and director in 1983. He served as the Artistic Director of the theater from 2005-2010. Monologues he wrote for the Wisconsin Veterans’ Museum won him awards from the Wisconsin Historical Society and the American Association of State and Local History. He has also had essays, poems, and articles published in newspapers and magazines around the country and has taken the top prize in several photo contests. His writing has appeared in Out!, James White Review, Scott Stamp Monthly, Wisconsin State Journal, and elsewhere. He has had several essays published online for Forward Seeking, Life After Hate, and The Progressive. Callen has also been a community activist for many years. He was the co-founder of Young People Caring, UW-Madison’s 10% Society, and Proud Theater. He served as the first President of Young People Caring and as the Artistic Director for Proud Theater for its first five years. He is still an adult mentor for the group. In 2003 he won OutReach’s Man of the Year award for his queer community activism. OutReach is Madison, Wisconsin’s lesbian/gay/bisexual/transgender community center. He also won a Community Shares of Wisconsin Backyard Hero award for his sex abuse survivor activism work. He has been invited to speak before many community groups, at a roundtable on queer community theater in New York City, and has emceed several events. In 2016, Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault named him their annual Courage Award winner for his activism, writing, and speaking on sexual assault.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment